Following a record number of applicants to our open call, five artists have been selected for this year’s hcmf// shorts and will feature in an extensive programme alongside other curated free performances.

These short performances provide a platform for emerging artists to perform at the UK’s leading new music festival. Each short will present either new works or an innovative interpretation of existing contemporary pieces.

The programme includes an eclectic mix of instrumental and vocal performers, improvisation, electroacoustic music, contemporary and experimental compositions as well as audio-visual work.

The concerts will take place in venues across Huddersfield on Monday 21 November, and admission is free.The five successful applicants are:

  • Susanne Peters and Sarah Saviet
  • Zubin Kanga
  • Revolution Ensemble
  • Explore Ensemble
  • Anne Pajunen

Susanne Peters and Sarah Saviet first performed together in 2015 as members of the new music collective Oerknal. Since then, they have enjoyed exploring (and expanding) the repertoire for flute(s) and violin. They have performed with ensembles such as ASKO/Schönberg, Musikfabrik, Contrechamps, Collegium Novum, and Ensemble Proton, and collaborated with countless composers.

Pianist, Zubin Kanga, has performed at the BBC Proms, Metropolis New Music Festival, IRCAM’s Manifeste Festival and Borealis Festival as well as appearing as a soloist with London Sinfonietta and the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. He has premiered 60 works and collaborated with many world leading composers including Michael Finnissy, George Benjamin and Thomas Adès.

Revolution Ensemble is an experimental group dedicated to pushing physical and musical limits through extended techniques, improvisation and interactive electronics and interdisciplinary collaborations. They will perform at hcmf// with saxophone and live electronics.

Explore Ensemble is a chamber group dedicated to modern and contemporary repertoire including new music by emerging composers. In recent years, the ensemble has performed works by composers including Sciarrino, Murail, Rebecca Saunders, Saariaho, Romitelli and Feldman, and have given over a dozen world and UK premieres.

Anne Pajunen is a composer, singer, viola player, director and set designer. Based in Stockholm, Anne works solo as well as with ensembles. She has produced and performed over 20 stage productions and commissioned works at stages like Norrlandsoperan, Folkoperan, Stockholm Concert Hall and many international festivals. Anne is the Artistsic Director for The Swedish Modern Opera ensemble SMOK.