Festival Office +44 (0) 1484 472900 | Tickets +44 (0) 1484 430528|info@hcmf.co.uk
Loading Events

Erik Drescher amplified flute and water sprinklers
Dafne Vicente-Sandoval amplified bassoon and potato starch
Jonny Axelsson percussion

Hanna Hartman (Sweden, 1961) Rainbirds (2010)
Hanna Hartman (Sweden, 1961) Central Heating (2012) UK Premiere
Hanna Hartman (Sweden, 1961) Message from the Lighthouse (2009/16) UK Premiere

Through her music, Swedish composer Hanna Hartman reveals what she calls ‘hidden correspondences’. She extracts sounds from the soundless, creating expressive music from functional resources. Many of her works are like domestic tableaus; collecting and amplifying mundane objects alongside traditional instrumentation, Hartman bridges the gap between artistic statement and daily chore. In this concert of her solo works, three renowned musicians perform pieces Hartman has created around newly ‘musical’ objects – including bricks, water sprinklers and ‘amplified potato starch’.

Produced by hcmf// supported by STIM’s Council for the Promotion of Swedish Music, Export Music Sweden, Kultur i Vast & Musik i Syd; also supported by Goethe-Institut London

This event will finish at approximately 12am

Photo: Erik Drescher performing Rainbirds